Average Order Value
AOV (average order value) is a key performance indicator that informs businesses of their customers' purchasing behaviors. Average Order Value is an indication of the profitability of an eCommerce shop, across segments. The formula for calculating AOV is revenue divided by number of orders: Average Order Value = Revenue/Number of orders. For example, let’s say that in the month of August, your store’s sales were 87000 and you had a total of 3000 orders. 87000 divided by 3000 = 29, so August’s monthly AOV was 29. While the Average Order Value is not the most complete eCommerce optimization metric, it is still regularly monitored by site owners.